Pear Chicken Kale Salad

 

Any person that knows me well knows that I used to be the pickiest eater around. I had only 4 staple vegetables I ate (including corn which you can’t really count). When my husband and I started dating I immediately discovered that he had a passion for food. He was only in culinary school at the time and the first time we went to dinner at the local Mexican restaurant all we talked about was the menu items! I realized I better broaden my horizons and start liking a variety of foods if I want this guy to like me! He slowly would introduce me to veggies cooked in different ways and I loved all of them. I love veggies now. I would have completely turned my nose up to a dish like this 6 years ago. Kale? YUCK! Now I’m saying kaaaaaaleyeah

This recipe is for one serving of the salad. I usually grill about 4 chicken breasts at the beginning of the week to use for meals later on in the week. Multiply the recipe if you are making the meal for a group.

Salad:

1/4 pear sliced thin

2 cups organic baby kale

4 organic baby carrots

1/8 hot house cucumber sliced

1/4 red onion sliced thin 

4 oz Grilled chicken 

Massage kale for 3-5min with a little olive oil to soften it. Mix all ingredients together. 

Chicken

Marinate overnight in 4 tbs olive oil, 8 tbs champagne vinegar, dash of Italian seasonings, 3 cloves fresh garlic, and salt & pepper. 

Dressing:

2 tbs champagne vinegar

1 tbs olive oil

1 clove of fresh garlic

S & P to taste

Dress the salad with dressing and let it sit for a few minutes so the kale soaks up the dressing. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

