Strawberry Spring Smoothie

 

Spring is in the air!!! And I am happy about it, very happy. One of the best things that Spring brings is strawberries on the cheap! I have strawberries coming out of my ears at home. They don’t last very long though once Zaylee and I get to them. We always try and make a family outing to the local strawberry farm this time of year. 

Strawberry pie must be a post in the near future! šŸ“

Now for the smoothie… I used some of a ripe banana to add more natural sugars to the smoothie. The more ripe a banana is, the sweeter it tastes. If you don’t have a ripe banana you can always skip it or use an unripe one and add a little more honey than I did. 

The honey I paired with this smoothie is awesome. It’s Harris Teeter’s very own Organic Wildflower Honey. The strawberries are a bit tart because they are so fresh and the Greek yogurt can also be tart. The honey helps tone the tartness down. I try to add a bit of Greek yogurt to the smoothies I make for protein. You’ll have to turn your head upside down to look at the label in the picture. šŸ˜‰

  

This smoothie can really make a great pre-workout smoothie for an early morning work out. Sleep is probably one of the most important things to me and my family knows for sure when I don’t get enough of it. The times that I can work out are always super early in the morning so I have to have a quick, healthy, carb filled meal planned the night ahead that I can put together on my way out the door and eat it on my way to the gym. (That way I get every minute of sleep I possibly can). If the meal is a smoothie, I always throw all ingredients except the liquid in the smoothie cup and refrigerate it the evening before. In the morning I just add the juice and/or almond milk and blend. If I was using this smoothie for pre-workout I probably would have added more banana for carbs. 

Recipe:

1 cup fresh chopped strawberries

1/2 ripe banana sliced

1/3 avocado diced

1/2 cup fresh spinach

1/4 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

1-1/2 cup Almond plus protein milk 

1 tbs orange juice 

Blend all ingredients for 30-45 seconds. If you find your smoothie is too thick add a bit more almond milk. If you find it is too thin add another piece of avocado or banana. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Spring Smoothie

Leave a Reply

