Blueberry Peanut Butter Smoothie

FRIDAY! 

I went to bed last night with smoothies on my mind… I was dreaming up possibilities for my pre-workout morning smoothie. 

Lately I have had a growing obsession with peanut butter and bananas. I think I get this quality from my dad. I remember him always making his peanut butter banana sandwiches when I was little. Of course with my pickiness, I never wanted to try it! It is one of my favorite snacks nowadays.

In my bedtime thoughts last night, I remember thinking about how I need to have bananas and blueberries in my smoothie… Blueberries because I need to use up the ones in the freezer and bananas to fuel up on carbs for my work out. Then the amazing thought popped in my mind… Peanut butter and blueberry jam sandwich… But in a smoothie! Of course if you add bananas to anything it’s going to be amazing. 

I know one person in the world that hates bananas. Even with her million amazing qualities I’m sad in this moment to call her my best friend. Even just the slight smell of bananas would make her nauseas. My obsession with bananas made the beginning of our relationship difficult. We worked together (and I ate bananas everyday) so I always had to eat it far away from her. Luckily, we got past the banana issue and are great, great friends!! 

Anyways… Here’s the recipe… Dedicated to Aashima. 

You will need:
1 cup frozen blueberries

1 banana

1 tbs natural peanut butter (or almond butter)

1/4 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

1-1/2 cups almond milk

Blend all ingredients for about 30 seconds and enjoy! Add 3-5 ice cubes if you prefer a really cold, thick smoothie. This drink has about 12.5 grams of protein.

  

Leave a Reply

