Chicken and Wafflez

Today’s post is a special one! My first guest Chef post. It features one of my closest friends. The Rodkey’s invited my sister and I over for dinner last Saturday. Chef hubb was hard at work because that’s just what chefs do on the weekend. I was reeeally looking forward to this meal. Aashima told me earlier in the week she was making her famous chicken and waffles. I was strictly on my buzzfeed clean eating diet last week with no cheating! This was the light at the end of the tunnel (I’m not counting eating Oreo truffles for dessert or drinking cocktails Friday… Shhhh).

Aashima’s recipe was awesome! I cannot wait to try it myself. The sweet/ savory/ spicy blend of flavors was delicious. In being back on my clean eating diet this week… I’m pretty much salivating in just writing about it. Lunch is going to taste like dirt.

Chef Aashima, hard at work.
Here is my Bestie’s Chicken and Wafflez Recipe. Most of the description is her own work with a few of my edits and additions so the real world understands our lingo. I really enjoyed it and I hope you do too!

Chicken:

2 chicken breasts

1/2 tsp-1 tsp of each of the following spices: Garlic salt, smoked paprika, chipotle seasoning, onion powder, black pepper, cajun seasoning (they prefer Slap Yo Mama seasoning)

2 tbs of bread crumbs

2 tbs olive oil

Pound that shit out real thin (the chicken).

Sprinkle all seasonings on both sides.

Sprinkle a veryyyy light dusting of bread crumbs on both sides.

Lightly pan fry chicken in a couple tablespoons of olive oil… flipping after a few minutes and covering until cooked through.

Wafflez:

Aashima did not remember the recipe she used for use any standard dinner waffle recipe as long as you whip the egg whites separately and fold them in at the end. She did say that her waffle recipe uses no sugar and she uses light/reduced fat butter in place of oil.

I did some research and found a recipe here that sounds similar.

Maple syrup:

1/2 cup maple syrup

Cajun seasoning (again, Slap Yo Mama) Use desired amount for this according to how spicy you like your food!

Add cajun seasoning (again slap yo mama, it’s the best but has a lot of heat so use sparingly) and whisk into syrup.

Arrange chicken on top of waffle and drizzle syrup over top.

Please make this meal….. I’m still dreaming about it while I finish mixed greens salad πŸ˜“.

4 thoughts on “Chicken and Wafflez

Leave a Reply

