Soy Shrimp and Green Beans

This yummy meal marked the end of my attempt to complete Buzzfeed’s clean eating challenge. I definitely did not stick to it as best as I wanted to going into it, but I was strict for about a week and a half and I’m pretty proud of myself. I think I had some unrealistic goals going into it!

I varied recipes I found on Buzzfeed’s Clean Eating Challenge website and mix and matched sides according to what I still had available in my refrigerator. The cauliflower rice (pictured below) was a huge hit. Since I was the only one in the household completing the diet I was able to eat on it for days. Kevin cooked up this meal for me and he only used one head of cauliflower as opposed to two like the recipe states.


The shrimp was great… And simple. Obviously the longer you marinate the shrimp, the better it will taste.

Shrimp:

1 cup soy sauce

1 lime – juiced

1 tbs Sambal Chili Paste (this stuff is amaze)

1/4 cup green onions chopped

1 clove garlic minced

1 tbs honey

Marinate shrimp at least 30 minutes or overnight in all of the above ingredients except green onion. Take shrimp out of bowl it’s marinating in with a slotted spoon and sauté in a nonstick skillet until almost cooked through (about 5 minutes). Pour remaining marinade over shrimp and cover to let shrimp steam and cook all the way through; about 2-3 more minutes.

Green Beans:

1 lb fresh green beans (snap off ends)

1 medium shallot sliced lengthwise into strips

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1 tbs olive oil

Heat oil in nonstick skillet. Add shallots and sweat until translucent. Add green beans and cook until almost cooked all the way through. Pour in vinegar, cover. Cook two minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste.

If you try our recipes, we appreciate any feedback! Contact us for questions at any time!

Leave a Reply

