Cilantro Lime Mahi Tacos

Mahi mahi… My favorite fish! I made these lettuce wrap tacos on Saturday… Only for myself though because unfortunately there was no way Zay was eating them! I saved a plate for Kevin and made his with tortillas.
This was my first attempt at fish tacos. I have only had fish tacos once before while eating out at a restaurant and it was not a good experience. I’m still new to exploring the seafood world and these turned out awesome and were so simple. I made a cilantro lime yogurt sauce to top the fish tacos in the place of sour cream.

Recipe:

Mahi Mahi:

1 lb. fresh Mahi mahi, skinned

2 tbs Spices and Tease Salsa and Guacamole seasonings

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tbs olive oil

Prepare spices in a bowl. Sprinkle seasonings on both sides of fish then rub into fish. Heat olive oil in a nonstick pan on medium high. Cook fish 4-5 minutes each side or until white all the way through and flakey. I’m not sure if the spice blend contained garlic powder but as a garlic lover I had to add a bit more!

Yogurt sauce:

1 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt

1/4 cup drained mild Rotel tomatoes

Juice of 1/2 lime

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp Spices and Tease Salsa and Guacamole seasoning

1 tbs minced cilantro

Blend all ingredients in mixing bowl.

To form tacos: I used Bibb lettuce for the wraps because they wrap so nicely! I started with the diced cooked Mahi then topped with diced red onion, cilantro, and a dollop of the cilantro cream sauce. Yum!

The blackening rub for the fish was so simple. In many of my recipes I use these awesome spice blends made by Spices and Tease. We went to New York City for our one year anniversary and thanks to the recommendation from a good friend, we went to Chelsea Market. It was so awesome! Spices and Tease was one of many little shops and restaurants inside the market. We really enjoyed it!

Kevin at Spices and Tease in Chelsea Market
Chelsea Market Lights!

I hope you enjoy this recipe! All feedback is greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

