Kevin’s Famous Asian Marinade

This really, truly is the marinade of all marinades. It has amazing bursts of Asian and citrus flavors and can be used for vegetables, chicken, shrimp, pork… anything you want. I even use it on my rice to add some flavor!

Kevin came up with this awhile back. It has a bit of a spicy kick to it. I absolutely love it. I was apprehensive to share it because it is so special… but everyone in the world deserves to try it!

We always try to let dinner marinate overnight if we have the time or remember to thaw meat in time for the next evening’s dinner. The flavor is a little stronger when left overnight. The struggle is real there though… I have so much going on and usually end up having to thaw meat in the microwave the evening of (which I really prefer not to do) or end up eating grilled cheese. In that case you can thaw it in the microwave then try to marinate for at least 30 minutes. Sometimes I’ll remember I need to prepare the marinade when Kevin gets home late… while I’m half asleep… and can barely mumble to him to please marinate some meat for my next evenings dinner. It always works out though, and tastes great either way!

I’ve been known to brutally screw up stir fry. I know it’s a simple dish. I really can’t tell you exactly what happens and how I screw it up. It just happens. Everytime. The first time I ever cooked for Kevin I tried to be really unique and make him stir fry (sarcasm). I found a recipe for a stir fry with gravy (sounds interesting, doesn’t it?) and I really thought Kevin was impressed. I didn’t think it tasted too bad but a few years later I found out that he thought it was terrible but felt too bad to say anything since I tried so hard. Ha! Thanks babe.

Anyways…. this is what I was competing with:

And YES… I cooked this meal ALL by myself while he was at work (with about 5 phone calls to him to make sure I was doing it right). He even said he loved it! Unless he was lying again………..

Marinade:

*These amounts will provide enough marinade for 1 pound of boneless skinless chicken breast. Kevin made two batches – one for the chicken and one for the vegetables.

1/2 cup soy sauce

1 tbs Sambal chili paste

Juice of 1 lime

2 cloves minced garlic

1/2 tbs Organic Wildflower Honey

1 tbs chopped fresh cilantro

Vegetables used for the stir fry pictured were 1 whole orange bell pepper sliced, 1/2 white onion sliced, and one medium sized yellow squash.

*Substitute any veggies… we use whatever we have in house when we make stir fry… green bell pepper, red bell pepper, red onion, white onion, asparagus, green beans, etc.

Marinate chicken and vegetables SEPARATELY in two bowls or large Ziploc baggies overnight if possible.

Slice chicken into tenders. Heat 1-2 tbs olive oil in a nonstick frying pan over medium high heat. Cook marinated tenders (without marinade- but do not discard marinade) about 2-3 minutes on one side and flip. Add vegetables. Cook chicken with vegetables about 2 more minutes. Add remaining marinade from the chicken and vegetables and bring to a boil. Simmer about 2 minutes or until ready to serve.

We served the stir fry over Brown Basmati Rice and garnished with fresh cilantro… YUM!

Leave a Reply

