Pork & Sprouts

I don’t think I’ve written about the fact that my husband had an amazing recent promotion to Sous Chef for Banquets at The Ritz Carlton in Charlotte. This was so bittersweet for him. Kevin making Sous Chef at 28 years old is an amazing accomplishment and further proves the fact that he is a baller chef. I couldn’t be more proud of him. This promotion will do great things for us… I have had to come to the realization that he will have many, many long nights and long days in this new position. Very few weekends will he be off work. I know this will be worth it and will be so great for Kevin’s career!

With that being said… The cooking is now pretty much always going to be on me. I should probably start writing down his cooking tips so I don’t have to call him every five minutes while cooking for reassurance!

I totally took advantage of the fact that Kevin was home for dinner time last night and he helped me with dinner. I did the marinating (very difficult task) and he cooked everything up. I’m very unfamiliar with how to cook Brussel Sprouts so he helped me out!

I am really not the biggest fan of sprouts unless they are deep fried with bacon. We all know bacon makes everything better. He really wanted to use bacon fat and bacon but I had to refuse so I could keep the recipe healthy.

Pork:

3/4 cup soy sauce

1 tbs rice vinegar

1 tbs sesame oil

2 tsp Siracha

1 tbs wildflower honey

2 large cloves minced garlic

1 tbs minced ginger

1 tbs cilantro

4- 1 inch thickness medium boneless pork chops

1 tbs olive oil

Put all ingredients except chops in a bowl. Whisk ingredients together. Add pork chops and marinate at least 30 minutes.

Heat olive oil in nonstick skillet. Add pork chops without marinade and cook 4 minutes on one side or until browned. Flip, cook 1 minute, then add remaining marinade and bring to a boil. Cover and cook about 3-4 more minutes on medium heat or until pork is no longer pink.

Sprouts:

1 lb Brussel Sprouts

1 tbs olive oil

2 large cloves minced garlic

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup soy sauce

Chop white hard ends off of Sprouts and slice in half. Be careful to not cut off too much because the sprouts will fall apart!


Heat olive oil in a nonstick skillet on high heat. Add sprouts to skillet and sear. Cook about 5 minutes, flipping occasionally. We wanted our sprouts crispy so we left them awhile before we flipped them! Add water, vinegar, and soy sauce and bring to a boil (should come to a boil right away because of the heat). Stir and flip sprouts. Add garlic. Cook about 2 more minutes. Enjoy!

One thought on “Pork & Sprouts

Leave a Reply

