Turkey Kielbasa Veg Out

Happy Fridayyyyy. Totally loving today. It’s been a thousand degrees in Charlotte for like three months now. While I prefer the heat to the winter weather it’s been a little outta control. Woke up to rain today and now it’s a beautiful 78 degrees outside. I ate my leftovers from last night outside on the steps at work to take it in a bit. 

Zay was on a play date last night so I didn’t have to make her usual separate plain meal. It was nice. My poor picky little one. I so wish she would eat more. She loves kielbasa plain. I definitely spiced it up a lot in the recipe but it was fairly simple… Threw it together in 20 minutes… besides the rice in the rice cooker that takes FOREVER. 

The rice cooker was probably one of favorite wedding gifts ever but I’m so impatient. If I remembered to start the rice before I did anything else it would probably be ready on time. With my forgetfulness it’d be a miracle if I did it right just once. 

Anyways….. So I started with my prep- cut up the sausages and veggies then browned the sausage with a little olive oil in a frying pan. 

  

Then, after seasoning the kielbasa, I removed the seared sausages from the frying pan once they were cooked up and crispy (I like crispy). Keep grease in pan and Add veggies next… Onions first for about a minute, then peppers and tomatoes. 

  
I cooked the veggies for 5 minutes more then threw the kielbasa back in with the garlic, stirred everything around a couple minutes then added the chicken stock and tomato sauce. 

  
Let everything steam covered for about 10 minutes. And that’s a wrap! 

Recipe Instructions and Ingredients:

1 14oz Turkey Kielbasa (I used Hillshire Farms brand)

2 tsp onion powder

2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp oregano

2 tsp Spices & Tease Red Meat seasoning blend (or you can use paprika & chili powder)

Salt & pepper

1 small green bell pepper

1 small red bell pepper

1 small yellow onion

10-12 cherry tomatoes

2 large cloves minced garlic

2 tbs olive oil

1/4 cup low sodium chicken stock

1/2 cup canned tomato sauce

Heat 1 tbs olive oil in a non stick pan on medium high. Add sausages and all spices to pan. Stir so all kielbasa is coated with the seasonings. Sear about 2 minutes each side. Remove from pan.

Keep grease from kielbasa in pan (it won’t be much since it was turkey kielbasa but still adds flavor). Add 1 tbs olive oil to pan and heat about 1 minute. Add onions and cook about 2 minutes. Next, add the remaining vegetables except the garlic. 

Cook the peppers, tomatoes and onions about 4-5 more minutes then add garlic. Cook one minute then place kielbasa back in pan and stir for about a minute. Lastly, put your tomato sauce and chicken stock in the pan. Bring it to a boil then reduce heat to simmer for 10 minutes or so to let sauce thicken a bit.  

Serve over rice or noodles!! I ate mine with rice to keep it a little bit healthier but noodles would probably be awesome with this since it has tomato sauce. Enjoy!

  

Leave a Reply

