Skinny Buffalo Chicken Dip

On Saturday I was invited to a neighborhood get together. I have a love-hate relationship with pot luck cook outs. I love to go and see all my friends and eat the delicious food… But I hate that they usually consist of high carb, high fat snacks. To a normal person (or what I think may be normal) you could just say… Don’t eat the fattening stuff. Yeah so it’s not really possible for me to stay away from Grace’s sausage dip. She makes it with Neese’s amazing sausage and it’s literally irresistible.

I wanted to bring something slightly healthy but still a party food. Veggie trays are good but how often do all the veggies get eaten? Never. No one wants vegetables when alcohol is involved. That’s just how it is. They want cake, cheeseburgers, and DIP, lots of DIP.

When I was in Harris Teeter this weekend, I found GREEK YOGURT cream cheese.


This was a pinnacle moment in my life. I never buy cream cheese because I love it so much and I’ll eat a million bagels if I have it in the house. This cream cheese has 4X the protein and 1/2 the far of regular cream cheese. I decided with finding this that Buffalo Chicken dip was my contribution to the cook out.

The recipe I used is a variation from this recipe.

Start with seasoning the chicken. Nothing fancy… This will just add a little extra flavor to the dip.


Next, sear the chicken in a nonstick pan with a little bit of olive oil. I set the heat to medium high and let it warm up for a couple minutes to get the pan nice and hot. Sear about 2 minutes each side.


I then let the chicken finish cooking in the oven. When the chicken is finished, shred the chicken and combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl.


Place the mixture in a baking dish and bake for 20-30 minutes or until dip is browned around edges and bubbly.

Recipe:

2 large boneless skinless chicken breasts

2 tsp paprika

2 tsp garlic powder

Salt & Pepper

1.5 cups Greek yogurt

6 ounces Greek yogurt cream cheese

1 cup part skim shredded mozzarella

1 cup Franks Red Hot Sauce

1 organic ranch seasoning packet

1 head of celery

Crackers of chips of choice (I used reduced fat wheat thins)

Preheat oven to 400. Season chicken on both sides with paprika, onion powder, and salt and pepper.

Heat a tablespoon of olive oil on medium high in a nonstick frying pan that’s oven compatible. Get the pan pretty hot. Sear chicken about 1-2 minutes each side. Place entire pan in the oven for 10 minutes or until chicken is cooked all the way through.

Lower oven heat to 350. When chicken is finished, place it in a large mixing bowl and shred chicken with two forks.  Add all remaining ingredients and mix them together. Place mixture in a greased baking dish. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.


Garnish with green onions if you like! The dip wasn’t as juicy as regular buffalo chicken dip but it was delicious and an alternative to the high fat dip with loads of cheese and sour cream. I hope you enjoy it if you try it!

2 thoughts on “Skinny Buffalo Chicken Dip

Leave a Reply

