Hot Italian Baked Cauliflower 

This is by far one of my new favorite cauliflower recipes. I think it’s tied with the amazing cauliflower pancakes Kevin made me last week. I ate on those for days. This particular recipe makes an awesome side or appetizer. I varied the recipe I found here and spiced it up a bit.

I recently did some reading up on the benefits of cauliflower and found some pretty good information. I’m just so confused as to why I hated this vegetable so much. I mean… I was really against broccoli and cauliflower. Hated both of them. Something just clicked one day when my close friend and I decided to try it a different way and became obsessed with the thousands of things you can do with cauliflower.

Anyways… The health benefits of eating cauliflower are endless. On Web MD, I found that it’s super low in calories and super high in vitamins and minerals. Just one cup has TONS of vitamin C which is the vitamin that aids in repairing and developing tissues in your body… That seems super important to have when your working out all the time.

Cauliflower also contains potassium, fiber, and a little bit of protein. These are all good things!!

Begin by making your sauce…


Whisk all ingredients together until it’s sauce-ay.

Chop up one head of cauliflower into small and medium sized florets. I like my cauliflower small and crispy so I did mostly small florets.

Throw the cauliflower in the mixing bowl and stir the ingredients together.

Recipe:

1 head of cauliflower

2 tbs tomato paste

1 tbs Dijon mustard

3 tbs olive oil

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

2 tbs Frank’s Red Hot Sauce

1 tsp Sambal Chili Paste

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp onion powder

3 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp black pepper

Preheat oven to 425.

Place all ingredients except cauliower in a large mixing bowl. Whisk them together. The oil may stay separated from the rest of the ingredients but it won’t be an issue.

Add the cauliflower (post chopping) to the mixture. Coat all cauliflower with the mixture by stirring it up real good!

Place mixture in a small baking dish. Try to form a single layer of cauliflower so it all roasts evenly. Bake for 30 minutes or until tops are crispy.


Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

