Paleo Stuffed Peppers

I am not on a paleo diet… But I need to go on one. I’ve been watching carbs closely lately. We’ve had too much fun this summer and I got a little out of hand with food… I love food… A lot.

I’ve been trying to go for some carb-free, or low carb dinners. Of course Pinterest brings up thousands of options. One I found was stuffed peppers. They were pretty easy. I’m not the biggest fan of rice inside my stuffed peppers, and since I’m watching my carbs, this meal really worked out.

I found the recipe here and made my own variations. I did sneak a couple scoopfuls of the meat mixture with tortilla chips… But they were whole grain so let’s just say that doesn’t count. Kevin came up with the amazing idea of adding Velveeta cheese to the meat mixture and serving it as a dip…. Ummmmmm I need to make that happen.

Recipe:

1 pound ground turkey (93/7)

4 bell peppers (color of choice)

1/2 medium onion chopped

1 can mild Rotel tomatoes, liquid drained

12oz can of garlic flavored tomato sauce

2 cloves minced garlic

3 tbs pizza seasoning or Italian seasoning

2 tsp cayenne seasoning 

Salt & Pepper

Preheat oven to 350. Chop the tops off of each bell pepper but save the tops and dice them up (minus the stem). Place the bottoms on a baking sheet and while chopping the rest of your veggies, bake them for about 3 minutes. 

Raise the oven heat up to 425 after the peppers come out. Meanwhile, heat oil in a large nonstick frying pan over medium high heat. Add onions and chopped up pepper tops. Cook about 5 minutes. Add ground turkey and cook until browned. Then add the garlic and stir. 

 

Pour the canned tomatoes and the tomato sauce in the pan along with the seasonings. Stir and cook until sauce thickens and reduces a bit. 

Spoon 1/4 of meat mixture into each pepper, stuffing them up good until you’ve used most of the meat! We had a but of the meat mixture leftover and that’s what we devoured with tortilla chips- yum. 

Bake about 20-25 minutes. Add shredded cheese on top if you’d like. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

